> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2015 ITA All-Tournament Team Announced for ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship


2015 ITA All-Tournament Team Announced for  

ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship

North Carolina senior Caroline Price voted Most Outstanding Player


UNC Championship Clinch Point - Price wins at third singles 


SKILLMAN, NJ (Feb. 13) - North Carolina's Caroline Price, a senior who went 4-0 at third singles, 4-0 at second doubles and clinched the championship point of a 4-1 finals victory over Georgia, was unanimously selected as the Most Outstanding Player of the 2015 ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Virginia at the Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va.


Price, currently ranked No. 21 in the ITA Division I National Women's Singles Rankings, won a singles point in each of her team's four matches this tournament, the lone Tar Heel to do so. On the heels of their championship run, 9-0 North Carolina improved from No. 3 to No. 1 in the ITA Division I Women's National Team Rankings.


Price also won all four of her doubles matches with partner Jamie Loeb in convincing fashion, defeating Oklahoma State 6-1 in the first round, Miami 6-0 in the quarterfinals, Florida 6-4 in the semifinals and Georgia 6-2 in the championship. Price lost only one set in her four singles wins, and it came against Georgia's Kennedy Shaffer in the final. After winning the first set 6-1 and losing the second 6-2, Price clinched the match against Shaffer in style. Trailing 5-4 in the third set, Price saved two match points on her opponent's serve and won the final three games of the match for a 7-5 third set win. Match point from that match can be found at the link at the top of this page.


Other notable performances from the tournament include Georgia freshman Hannah King clinching upsets over No. 1 UCLA in the quarterfinals and No. 5 California in the semifinals. King was named to the ITA All-Tournament Team at fifth singles, and her contributions in Georgia's finals appearance helped catapult the team from No. 9 to No. 3 in the national rankings.  


UCLA's Catherine Harrison and Kyle McPhillips are making their third consecutive appearance on the ITA All-Tournament Team. The No. 2 ranked doubles team in the country, Harrison and McPhillips went 3-0 at first doubles in this year's tournament after earning ITA All-Tournament Team honors as a second doubles team in 2014 and for third doubles in 2013. North Carolina sophomore Hayley Carter, an honoree at third doubles this year, made the ITA All Tournament in 2014 at second singles. 


2015 ITA All-Tournament Team - Singles

No. 1. Jamie Loeb, So. - North Carolina

No. 2. Josie Kuhlman, Fr. - Florida

No. 3. Caroline Price, Sr. - North Carolina - unanimous pick

No. 4. Whitney Kay, Jr. - North Carolina

No. 5. Hannah King, Fr. - Georgia

No. 6. Caroline Brinson, So. - Georgia


2015 ITA All-Tournament Team - Doubles

No. 1. Catherine Harrison, Jr./Kyle McPhillips, Jr. - UCLA

No. 2. Jamie Loeb, So./Caroline Price, Sr. - North Carolina

No. 3. Hayley Carter, So./Whitney Kay, Jr. - North Carolina


This year marks the eighth annual ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. The voting panel is comprised of the 16 participating team head coaches. Past winners of the Most Outstanding Player award, inaugurated in 2008, are: Kristen Flower of Georgia Tech (2008), Chelsey Gullickson of Georgia (2009), Maria Mosolova of Northwestern (2010), Hilary Barte of Stanford (2011), Robin Anderson of UCLA (2012), Whitney Kay of North Carolina (2013) and Hanna Mar of Duke (2014).  

About the ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship

The ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship is held annually each February and was inaugurated in 1988. The tournament features 16 participating teams: the 15 schools who won both of their matches during the 2015 ITA Kick-Off Weekend, and the host site school. The tournament is held over four days and begins on Friday with first round play, followed by quarterfinals on Saturday, semifinals on Sunday and the final on Monday.