> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2015 ITA Summer Circuit - Week 5 Recap


2015 Summer Circuit Scroll June 25
2015 ITA Summer Circuit - Week 5 Recap


Photo Album | Draws


SKILLMAN, NJ (July 29) - The 'regular season' of the 2015 ITA Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, wrapped up last weekend with play at nine sites. Next up is the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships, which will take place on August 8-11 and will be hosted by Indiana University.

The theme of the final week was repeated summer success, which included:


Four titles in two weeks for Curry

Texas Tech's Connor Curry (UTR: 12.94) is undefeated in 19 matches during the ITA Summer Circuit, having won back-to-back singles and doubles titles in UT Arlington and Oklahoma. Curry will enter his sophomore season for the Red Raiders in September. During the fall of his freshman campaign, Curry knocked off Baylor's Diego Galeano (then ranked No. 26 in the Oracle/ITA National Singles Rankings).


Katz continues summer success

USC's Zoë Katz (UTR: 10.41) won her second straight circuit singles title, losing only 20 games in her six-match stretch to the title. Katz plans to participate in the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships early next month.


Back-to-back Mid-Atlantic titles for Albright/Bryan

The UNC Greensboro duo of William Albright (UTR: 12.3) and Warren Bryan (UTR: 11.36) won its second straight men's doubles crown, once again as the No. 3 seed. This past weekend at Wake Forest, the Spartans only surrendered nine games en route to the title.




Men's Singles: Keaton Cullimore (BYU)

Women's Singles: Victoria Robertson (Utah)

Men's Doubles: Francis Sargeant (BYU)/Evan Urbina (Air Force asst. men's coach)

Women's Doubles: Demi Daniels/Brittanie Eraso (BYU)


Cal State LA

Men's Singles: Ryoto Tachi (UCLA)

Women's Singles: Zoë Katz (USC)

Men's Doubles: Nick Mitchell/Eric Kenneth (HS)

Women's Doubles: Margo Pletcher (Utah)/Maia Magill (UCLA)


Video Highlights of Cal State LA singles finals (Courtesy of Yang Lin)

Ryoto Tachi (UCLA) def. Jaime Barajas (Utah St.)

Zoë Katz (USC) def. Victoire Saperstein (Georgetown)



Men's Singles: Ben Rosen (Bates)

Women's Singles: Alexandra D'Ascenzo (Cornell)

Men's Doubles: Louis-Philippe Gascon (Utah)/Trent Kannegieter (HS)

Women's Doubles: Alexandra D'Ascenzo/Dena Tanebaum (Cornell)



Men's Singles: Elliott Orkin (Florida)

Women's Singles: Natalia Maynetto (Alabama)

Men's Doubles: Joshua Wardell/Chase Perez-Blanco (Florida)

Women's Doubles: Peggy Porter/Kourtney Keegan (Florida)



Men's Singles: Elliot Yee (Indiana)

Women's Singles: Stephanie Smith (Indiana)

Men's Doubles: Chris Essick/Stefan Lugonjic (Indiana)

Women's Doubles: Mehvish Safdar (Minnesota)/Christina Zordani (HS)



Men's Singles: Connor Curry (Texas Tech)

Women's Singles: Kelsey Laurente (Oklahoma State)

Men's Doubles: Connor Curry (Texas Tech)/Chris Norrie (Midwestern State)

Women's Doubles: Kelsey Laurente (Oklahoma State)/Vanessa Ong (8th grade)


Sonoma State

Men's Singles: Alex Brenner (CMS)

Women's Singles: Caroline Casper (Pomona-Pitzer)

Men's Doubles: Justin Barton/Ryan Andrus (HS)

Women's Doubles: Caroline Casper (Pomona-Pitzer)/Caroline Ward (CMS)


Texas A&M

Men's Singles: Juan "Tito" Moreiras (UTSA)

Women's Singles: Aspen Cervin (Saint Louis)

Men's Doubles: Frankie Colunga/Shane Vinsant (Texas A&M)

Women's Doubles: Jamie Lee Denton/Kaylin Kruseman (St. Mary's)


Wake Forest

Men's Singles: Ian Dempster (NC State)

Women's Singles: Taylor Davidson (Stanford)

Men's Doubles: William Albright/Warren Bryan (UNC Greensboro)

Women's Doubles: Taylor Davidson (Stanford)/Ansley Speaks (Furman)


Upcoming Tournament Schedule:

Aug. 8-11: ITA/USTA National Summer Championships


About the ITA Summer Circuit

Since its inception in 1993, nearly 30,000 men and women have competed in the ITA Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA. Providing college and junior athletes (along with alumni) the opportunity to compete in organized events year round, the Circuit remains open to anyone as long as he/she is a current ITA member. There are nine regional circuits that span across the United States, which include 36 different tournaments.