> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2016 ITA All-Tournament Team Announced for ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship

MADISON, WI – Voted on by a panel of the 16 participating head coaches at the 2016 ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Wisconsin, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced on Wednesday the 2016 ITA All-Tournament Team selections and Most Outstanding Player honoree.

2016 ITA All-Tournament Team – Singles

No. 1 Singles: Hayley Carter, Junior – North Carolina
#OracleITARanking: No. 3
ITA Indoors Record: 3-0
Def. Erin Routliffe (Alabama) 6-1, 6-3
Def. Joana Vale Costa (LSU) 6-1, 6-1
DNF Ellen Perez (Georgia) 7-5, 4-6, 1-2
Def. Maegan Manasse (Cal) 6-2, 6-2

No. 2 Singles: Brienne Minor, Freshman –  Michigan
#OracleITARanking: No. 14
ITA Indoors Record: 3-0
Def. Stephanie Wagner (Miami) 6-2, 6-4
Def. Caroline Brinson (Georgia) 6-3, 6-1
Def. Jessica Golovin (LSU) 6-4, 6-3

No. 3 Singles: Astra Sharma, Sophomore – Vanderbilt
#OracleITARanking: No. 22
ITA Indoors Record: 2-0
Def. Anna Sanford (Ohio State) 6-2, 6-2
Def. Stephanie Nauta (Virginia) 7-6, 6-0

No. 4 Singles: Jessie Aney, Freshman – North Carolina
#OracleITARanking: No. 58
ITA Indoors Record: 2-0
Def. Danielle Spielmann (Alabama) 6-0, 6-3
DNF Ryann Foster, (LSU) 6-3, 2-6, 2-1
Def. Denise Starr (Cal) 7-6, 6-4

No. 5 Singles: Olivia Hauger, Freshman – California
#OracleITARanking: No. 102
ITA Indoors Record: 4-0
Def. Sydney Rider (Wisconsin) 6-1, 6-1
Def. Meghan Kelley (Virginia) 6-4, 6-4
Def. Ferny Angeles Paz (Ohio State) 6-4, 6-4
Def. Marika Akkerman (North Carolina) 7-5, 2-6, 7-5

No. 6 Singles: Karla Popovic, Sophomore – California
#OracleITARanking: NR
ITA Indoors Record: 3-0
DNF Lauren Burich (Wisconsin) 6-1, 4-1
Def. Taylor Wingo (Virginia) 6-0, 6-1
Def. Olivia Sneed (Ohio State) 6-2, 1-6, 6-3
Def. Chloe Oullet-Pizer (North Carolina) 6-1, 6-3

2016 ITA All-Tournament Team – Doubles

No. 1 Doubles: Hayley Carter, Junior/Whitney Kay, Senior – North Carolina
#OracleITARanking: No. 1
ITA Indoors Record: 2-0
Def. Routliffe/Daniell (Alabama) 6-2
DNF Vale Costa/Foster (LSU) 4-5
Def. Perez/Gould (Georgia) 6-4
DNF Manasse/Starr (Cal) 5-4 

No. 2 Doubles: Silvia Garcia, Senior/Caroline Brinson, Junior – Georgia
#OracleITARanking: No. 33
ITA Indoors Record: 3-0
Def. Dvorak/Valenstein (Texas Tech) 6-3
Def. Yurovsky/Fahey (Michigan) 6-3
Def. Aney/Vialle (North Carolina) 6-0

No. 3 Doubles: Francesca Di Lorenzo, Freshman/Olivia Sneed, Sophomore – Ohio State
#OracleITARanking: NR
ITA Indoors Record: 3-0
Def. Malysheva/Noble (Fresno State) 6-4
Def. Altick/Contreras (Vanderbilt) 6-2
Def. Chi/Smith (Cal) 6-4


#ITAIndoors Most Outstanding Player
In addition to being named to the ITA All-Tournament Team, Cal’s Olivia Hauger was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2016 ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship.

The freshman, ranked 102nd in the nation, went 4-0 while competing in the No. 5 spot for the Golden Bears and claimed three of her four victories in straight sets. Hauger’s #ITAIndoors debut was highlighted by her gritty 7-5, 2-6, 7-5 championship-clinching victory over UNC’s Marika Akkerman. The title was the first-ever ITA Indoors championship for Cal. The win also allowed the Golden Bears to take over the No. 1 spot in the latest #OracleITARankings.

Hauger is currently 13-3 on the season in singles play.


This year marks the ninth annual ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. The voting panel is comprised of the 16 participating team head coaches. Past winners of the Most Outstanding Player award are: Kristen Flower, Georgia Tech (2008); Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia (2009); Maria Mosolova, Northwestern (2010); Hilary Barte, Stanford (2011); Robin Anderson, UCLA (2012); Whitney Kay, North Carolina (2013); Hanna Mar, Duke (2014) and Caroline Price, North Carolina (2015).  

About the ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship
The ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship is held annually each February and was inaugurated in 1988. The tournament features 16 participating teams: the 15 schools who won both of their matches during the 2015 ITA Kick-Off Weekend, and the host site school. The tournament is held over four days and begins on Friday with first round play, followed by quarterfinals on Saturday, semifinals on Sunday and the final on Monday.