> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2017 Oracle ITA Masters Gets Underway Thursday In Malibu, California

TEMPE, Ariz. –
The first Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Championship of the 2017-18 season takes place this week, as Pepperdine University and Malibu Racquet Club serve as hosts of the 2017 Oracle ITA Masters.

Now in its third year of existence, the Oracle ITA Masters speaks to Oracle’s commitment to growing collegiate tennis, and will showcase several of the nation’s top players.

Following the successful expansion of the men’s and women’s singles draws in 2016, the 2017 Oracle ITA Masters will again feature 32-player singles competitors per gender. Invitations were sent out to one man and one woman from each Division I Conference to participate, with criteria similar to the NCAA Tournament being used.

The men’s and women’s singles champions earn automatic entry into the 2017 Oracle ITA National Fall Championships, which will be held November 1-5, in Palm Desert, California. The Oracle ITA National Fall Championships replaces the ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships. You can read more about the creation of the new fall event here.

A 32-team mixed-doubles event will also take place at the 2016 Oracle ITA Masters, with players from the same conference partnered up wherever possible. Hayley Carter (North Carolina) and Christopher Eubanks (Georgia Tech) won the inaugural mixed doubles title in 2016.

Defending Oracle ITA Masters women’s singles champion Ena Shibahara of UCLA highlights the women’s singles field. Shibahara enters the 2017 Oracle ITA Masters as the nation’s No. 1-ranked player in the recently announced Oracle ITA Division I Women’s Preseason National Rankings.

Petros Chrysochos of Wake Forest, the 2016 Saint Francis Health System ITA Men’s All-American singles champion, is the highest-ranked player in the 2017 Oracle ITA Masters men’s singles field, checking in at No. 3.

Head to the Oracle ITA Masters event page for draws, schedule of events, daily recaps, video highlights, photo gallery links and other information. Live scoring will be available for all matches, while TempuZ will provide live streaming coverage all tournament long from Malibu Racquet Club.