> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2018 ITA Division I National Men's Team Indoor Championship Set To Begin Friday In Seattle

DI Men's #ITAIndoors Preview Graphic-2018-02-14

TEMPE, Ariz. –
Sixteen of the top Division I men’s tennis teams will compete for an indoor national championship, as the University of Washington hosts the 2018 ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship.

Action will take place at both the Nordstrom Tennis Center and Seattle Tennis Club. The four-day event begins on Friday, February 16, and concludes on Monday, February 19. The University of Virginia won the 2017 event and would go on to claim the NCAA National Championship as well.

The ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship is in its 43rd year of existence. Fifteen teams qualified for the event by winning their respective 2018 ITA Kick-Off Weekend four-team regional, while Wisconsin received an automatic bid as the host site. The teams will compete in a single-elimination tournament over a four-day span to crown a national indoor champion. Each team is guaranteed three matches at the event.

The seeds in the National Men’s Team Indoor Championship field were determined based on an unpublished ranking conducted by the National Ranking Committee. Wake Forest and Ohio State are the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds, respectively.
Stanford holds the most ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship titles with 12, followed by UCLA with seven and Virginia with six.

For updated draws, results, live scoring and video, daily video highlights and photo galleries, head to the Division I Men’s National Indoors event page. On social media, be sure to follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram and use the hashtag #ITAIndoors to join the conversation.

#ITAIndoors First Round Matches
No. 1 Wake Forest vs. No. 16 Washington – 6:30 p.m. (UW)
No. 8 USC vs. No. 9 Oklahoma State – 6:30 p.m. (STC)
No. 5 Stanford vs. No. 12 Baylor – 3:30 p.m. (STC)
No. 4 Georgia vs. No. 13 Columbia – 3:30 p.m. (UW)
No. 3 North Carolina vs. No. 14 Notre Dame – 12 p.m. (UW)
No. 6 Texas A&M vs. No. 11 Florida – 12 p.m. (STC)
No. 7 UCLA vs. No. 10 Illinois – 9 a.m. (STC)
No. 2 Ohio State vs. No. 15 Duke – 9 a.m. (UW)

UW = Nordstrom Tennis Center. STC = Seattle Tennis Club

#ITAIndoors Men’s Qualifiers By Conference
ACC (4) – Wake Forest; North Carolina; Duke; Notre Dame
Pac-12 (3) – Stanford; UCLA; USC 
SEC (3) – Florida; Georgia; Texas A&M 
Big Ten (2) – Illinois; Ohio State
Big 12 (2) – Baylor; Oklahoma State
Ivy (1) – Columbia

#ITAIndoors Qualifiers By #ITAKickOff Seeds
No. 1 (10) – Baylor; Florida; Georgia; North Carolina; Ohio State; Oklahoma State; UCLA; USC; Texas A&M; Wake Forest
No. 2 (2) – Columbia; Stanford
No. 3 (2) – Duke; Illinois
No. 4 (1) – Notre Dame

Washington received an automatic bid due to serving as the host site for the 2018 Men’s #ITAIndoors