> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > All-TCU Men's Singles Final To Take Place At 2017 Hall Of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational

Grass Court Invitational Scroll-2017-09-15

After two days of competition at the 2017 Hall of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational, one thing is for sure: there will be at least one Horned Frog in the main draw of the 2018 Dell Technologies Hall of Fame Open.

That main draw wild card spot into the ATP 250-level event, which like the Hall of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational is held on the grounds of the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island, will be awarded to the winner of Sunday’s Andy Roddick flight final between TCU teammates – and doubles partners for the week – Alex Rybakov and Alastair Gray, with the runner-up receiving a spot in the qualifying draw of the professional tournament.

Rybakov, the top seed in the 8-player draw, defeated No. 4 seed Jackie Tang of Columbia 6-4, 7-5, while Gray outlasted Georgia’s Jan Zielinski in three sets 6-7 (4), 6-1, 1-0 (3). Rybakov and Gray took down Georgia’s top-seeded duo of Zielinski and Robert Loeb in the Woodbridge/Woodforde flight final on Saturday.

In the women’s Kim Clijsters draw, which will award a main draw entry into a $25,000-level USTA Pro Circuit event to the winner, and a place in the qualifying draw of an equal-level USTA Pro Circuit event to the finalist, No. 3 seed Jessie Aney of North Carolina will square off against No. 4 seed Anna Danilina of Florida.

Aney defeated another Florida Gator on Saturday, besting No. 2 seed Josie Kuhlman in a tight three-set affair 6-3, 3-6, 1-0 (8). Danilina booked her place in the final with a 6-1, 6-2 decision over Katrine Steffensen of Princeton.

In the Gardnar Mulloy flight, No. 2 seed Caleb Chakravarthi of Illinois will take on No. 4 seed Alex Phillips of Georgia in the final. The Althea Gibson final pits No. 1 seed Maria Kononova of North Texas versus No. 3 seed Eden Richardson of LSU.

The Illinois duo of Vuk Budic and Chakravarthi won the Seixas/Trabert flight, topping Georgia’s Andy Martinez and Phillips 8-3 in the final. North Carolina’s Sara Daavettila and Alle Sanford won the Fernandez/Zvereva flight with an 8-7 victory over LSU’s Kennan Johnson and Richardson.

The 2017 Hall of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational features nine teams (Columbia, Illinois, Georgia and TCU men; Florida, LSU, North Carolina, North Texas and Princeton women) that will compete in a flighted singles and doubles round-robin format. For updated draws, order of play, daily recaps and video highlights, head to the official event page.