> ITA Tennis Homepage > Awards > Achievement Award > 2011 ITA Achievement Award


2011 ITA Achievement Award Winner - Jon D. Erickson


Jon D. Erickson receives 2011 ITA Achievement Award
Hosted by the International Tennis Hall of Fame and presented by Rolex Watch U.S.A.

SKILLMAN, N.J. - Jon D. Erickson, alumnus of the University of Michigan Class of 1959, is the winner of the 2011 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Achievement Award, hosted by the International Tennis Hall of Fame (ITHF) and presented by Rolex Watch U.S.A.

Erickson was honored on September 9th during the annual ITHF Board of Directors meeting, where he was presented with a distinctive Rolex timepiece. In addition to this special gift, Erickson and his wife, Mary, watched a session of the 2011 US Open from the President's Box, courtesy of the USTA, and were recognized during the ITHF's Legends Ball. The
University of Michigan varsity tennis program also received a $1,000 donation from the ITA in Jon’s honor.   

A native of Kalamazoo, Mich., Jon D. Erickson helped lead the Wolverines’ men’s tennis team to the NCAA title and two Big Ten Conference championships. Additionally, Erickson was named an ITA All-American after capturing the Big Ten singles and doubles titles.


After receiving his undergraduate degree from the University of Michigan in 1959, Erickson stayed in Ann Arbor to continue his education, completing his graduate work in nuclear engineering and earning both his masters and doctorate degrees.


In 1976, Dr. Erickson joined the NASA Johnson Space Center and advanced through positions in Houston and Washington, DC, where he was regarded as a pioneer in Artificial Intelligence. He later concluded his career at NASA as the Chief Scientist for Automation, Robotics and Simulation.


In 1992, Erickson was awarded the NASA Exceptional Service Medal. His work in space robotics made him a finalist in the 1996 Discover Magazine Technology Innovations of the Year at EPCOT competition.


In addition to Erickson’s contributions to the world at-large, he volunteers in his local community, primarily through his church, as the weekly and annual editor of the church calendar and as a visitor and correspondent to prison inmates. He has contributed more than 10% of his annual income each year since 1961 to over 40 charitable causes.


Until 2011, Erickson was CEO and President of Berkeley Street Consulting, Inc, located in Houston, Texas, where he currently resides with his wife of 48 years.

Jon Erickson alongside Peter Nicholson of Rolex Watch USA, Hall-of-Famer Stan Smith and ITA Executive Director David A Benjamin

The ITA Achievement Award was created in 1994 to pay tribute each year to past participants in the world of collegiate varsity tennis who have achieved excellence in their chosen careers. The person honored annually by the ITA as the Achievement Award winner is unique in his or her character and accomplishments. The spirit of this award honors both professional success and contributions to society, made either as a direct result of a career, or through humanitarian efforts.

"The lessons learned on the court over a period of four years are a vital companion to the academic lessons of higher education," said David A Benjamin, ITA Executive Director. "The winner of the ITA Achievement Award is an individual who benefited from the experience of intercollegiate competition, went on to great accomplishments, and has made significant contributions to his community."

A distinguished award-selection panel determines the ITA Achievement Award winner. The members of the panel include: tennis legends Chris Evert & Stan Smith; Alan Schwartz, a Past-President of the USTA; the Honorable David Dinkins, Former Mayor of New York City; 1995 ITA Achievement Award recipient and Former Senator John Breaux (D-LA); Mark Stenning, Executive Director of the International Tennis Hall of Fame; John Fry, President of Drexel University, and David A Benjamin, ITA Executive Director.

To read a transcript of Erickson's moving acceptance speech, please click here.

Past ITA Achievement Award Winners


Robert A. Swift

Haverford College '68


John L. Thornton

Harvard University '76


Christine Grant

College '69


Sheridan Snyder

University of Virginia '58

Governor Pedro Rossello

University of
Notre Dame '66


Dr. Geoffrey Tabin

University '78


Lieutenant Colonel Gail Allen

Air Force
Academy '82


Thomas Cundy

Florida State University '55

Dr. William Bowen

University '55


Steve Appleton

Boise State University '82


Lisa Hoffstein

University of Pennsylvania '81


Dr. George Fareed

University of California '66

Dr. Bert Vogelstein

University of Pennsylvania '70


Gene Sperling

Update (1/7/10)

University of Minnesota '82


Wilma A. Lewis

College '78


Jack Blanton, Sr.

University of Texas '47

Roger B. Porter

Brigham Young University '69


Patricia Beckford Acheson

College '72


Dr. Rebecca Birchmore Campen

University of
Georgia '63

Judge Gerald E. Rosen

Kalamazoo College ’73

Senator John Breaux

University of SW Louisiana '64


Dr. Ruth M. Haude

State (PA) '58


Judge Peggy Brenden

Luther College '76

Dr. Michael P. Johnson

University '79

Athan James Shaka

Harvey Mudd College '80